Elle King's Son Inspired A Personal Evolution That Led To Her Newest Era

Photo: Getty Images

Come Get Your Wife has finally arrived…

Elle King kicked off her long-awaited era of music with her new album on Friday (January 27), packed with everything from high-energy party anthems to heartfelt tributes throughout its track list. The “focus track,” named after the singer-songwriter’s son, captures the way her genre-blending style has evolved over the course of her career.

“It makes sense that Lucky is the focus track for my new record, he is the reason I have evolved into the person I am now to create this next chapter of music,” King said of son Lucky Levi Tooker, who was born in September 2021. “I have put all of my energy and love into this album, and I cannot wait to share it with you all.”

Come Get Your Wife features a few previously-released tracks that quickly became fan-favorites, including “Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home),” with Miranda Lambert, and “Worth A Shot,” featuring Dierks Bentley, the pair’s first collaboration since their 2016 smash-hit, “Different For Girls.” King recently credited Bentley as the reason she “had the chance to fall in love with country music.”

Though King loves pop and rock music, she’s drawn to country. She previously explained: “Now, I understand that I have all of these influences and all of these things to make me this type of performer and songwriter, and now a producer. But all I can say is that this is what it is to me. This is what country is to me. And this is what makes me feel a certain way.”

Come Get Your Wife also features the sassy breakup anthem “Tulsa” (which King shared was “one of my favorite moments,” working with fellow country superstar Ashley McBryde), “Try Jesus,” “Ohio” (which King describes as “a love letter to the place that made me who I am…where I fell in love with country music”), and more.

  1. Ohio
  2. Before You Met Me
  3. Try Jesus
  4. Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home), with Miranda Lambert
  5. Lucky
  6. Worth A Shot, feat. Dierks Bentley
  7. Tulsa
  8. Crawlin’ Mood
  9. Bonafide
  10. Blacked Out
  11. Out Yonder
  12. Love Go By

The 12-track collection is “all about being who TF you are no matter if that makes others feel uncomfortable…” King previously explained, sharing that the album got its name because she was winning a game of pool when, “this person shouts — not at me, but over me — to my partner, ‘come get your wife!’”

King is part of the all-star iHeartCountry Festival lineup on May 13, at Moody Center in Austin, Texas. Fans across the country will able to tune in to all of the incredible live performances at this year's iHeartCountry Festival as the event will be broadcast on iHeartRadio country stations nationwide, and on iHeartRadio.com as well as the iHeartRadio app on Saturday, May 13th at 8pm ET/5pm PT.

Find Come Get Your Wife on iHeartRadio here, and listen to a few of the songs below.


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content